Rumi’s legacy IV

“If you are irritated by every rub, how will you be polished?” – Rumi

اگر تم ہر رگڑ پر ہی تنگ ہونے لگو گے تو پالش(خوبصورت) کیسے ہو گے؟

میری نانی مرحومہ کہا کرتی تھیں کہ “دھیئے۔۔۔ستے خیراں نے۔۔۔اک در بند تے دوجا کھلدا اے۔۔۔۔(بیٹٰی خیر ہے،ایک دروازہ بند ہوتا ہے تو دوسرا کھل جاتا ہے)”اور یہ بھی مثال اکثر ہی سنایا کرتی تھیں کہ “وٹے نوں کسی نے پوچھیا سی کہ تو انا گول کنج ہویا؟ تے وٹے نے دسیا۔۔۔لتاں کھا کھا کے۔۔۔(پتھر سے کسی نے پوچھا کہ تم اتنے گول کیسے ہوئے تو وہ بولا کہ لوگوں کی ٹھوکریں کھا کھا کر)”۔

Beautifully written, deep thought that prepares us to accept the challenges we come across and face them with courage and strength. Instead of crying and sighing, like most of us do in pain (including myself), one should take it positively and try to “learn” from it.

My first perception about the quote was, “how come Rumi say that? It is not possible? How can a person not cry in pain?” But with time I learnt that Rumi was right. Pain teaches us. I tried extracting lessons with every rub of life. And deliberately told myself that the rub is for my growth.

So, we only need to change our perception and accept and welcome it. The more you are irritated in life, the more you learn (if you are a learner).

In literature, when I first read, “sadder but wiser”. My reaction was different although it still touched my soul. I kept it safe in my mind and tried to apply it during hard times.

Now that, my reaction to seeing things is changed, I can tell you a strange thing….I have started “enjoying” pain and hardships. REALLY. (It only takes acceptance, nothing else matters). For instance, I was born to a well off father. We had car to go anywhere, good food, status, money and all that we needed. But a time came when we lost everything. No money, no car, no good status or other luxuries of life….nothing.

Formerly, I had been travelling in a comfy and cozy car. Traveling was not an issue. We never knew how much fuel it consumed on our frequent visits. How much cost my papa had been using on its repairs etc. But then I had to take bus. I had to keep my mind open to take it on time. (taught me to be punctual), I had to keep record of my expenses of bus travel (it taught me budgeting and saving) and so on. And it was hell difficult for me in the beginning. But the car travel-never taught me paths, ways, signs, signals or marks because i had driver to take me anywhere.I could not move anywhere without the driver before. I did not know ways. I must had to depend upon him. The bus travel, on the other hand, has taught me the real taste and experience of traveling. Now I know all the ways, streets, poles, buildings and means of reaching to a place. I feel more freedom in this life as this life does not bind me to follow blindly a driver for me. And thank nature for it 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Rumi’s legacy IV

  1. Rumi’s quote reflects the ability of individuals to like and endure rubs (while being emer-ied during life’s troughs)…

    It is a fundamental quality of metals to have the ability to be converted into wires, sheets and various shapes, having been subjected to stresses, thermal conditioning, and many other engineering processes. Result is a high quality, good finish material in desired form. Well, the materials which do not have the quality to be improved by such processes are not important or valuable for us.

    Human beings carry a similar story.

    The more they endure, the better they are. The more pressure and stress they sustain, the more physical and mental stamina they possess. The more difficult state they are in, the more resilient they become. Although there is a limit to everything (for materials and as well as humans), but it is also a fact that stressors usually do not reach breaking point. The engineers know the limits of materials (through stress-strain charts, containing the yield strengths, tensile strengths and elastic / plastic regimes, etc) and condition the materials to respective limits only, so as to balance and trade-off qualities, performance and strengths.

    The Creator knows human beings more than engineers know materials.
    [“la nukallifullaho nafsan illa wus’ahaa” – “Allah does not burden any human being with a responsibility heavier than he can bear”. Al Baqarah – 286].

    Pain teaches us about so many things. It tells us about our limits, and our ability to handle stress and our strain-points. It also tells us about others who came forward (to help us during rough times) and who did not. It also tells us that no matter how painful the experiences are, “this too shall pass”. It tells us to understand others’ pain, brings home empathy and compassion, help and support, and softens our hearts. It tells us that in after every trough, there’s a crest. It tells us that courage is the most important element of character.

    When plants and hedges are not-gently trimmed, when fields are roughly plough-ed, when a prospective internee is rejected from yet another job, when soldiers from an artillery guns’ battery fire yet another round which is close to (but not on) target and receive a “feedback” that’s exactly on target, when voters slap another corrupt regime (like ours) to their own faces every five years………..all these “rubs” are essential for better days ahead. Every rub instills in us hope, strength to fight back, capacity to improve, ability to look back and see what went wrong, and so many such virtues….

    …..so very aptly said by Nanny, the shiny, smooth pebble made its way from the rolling stone.

    …..your story also is of endurance, resolution and consistency. Keep it with you, it will outshine you. The amount of stress you have seen has made you stronger, wiser and resolute. It will add on proportionate to your liking of it.

    Blessings all the way…

    Like

  2. Pingback: Rumi – Some thoughts by an ‘outsider’ – 4 | Madd o Jazar

Leave a Reply

