Story Worth Telling:Journey that changed The way I think of life (part 1)

Story of a worthless relationship in a worthy manner

Chapter 1: Meet Me

This is the story of beyond love. Some people love in an average way, while some go beyond it!

At this stage you might not understand what I mean, but do not worry. You are going to “get me” after you read this story. You will even understand what exactly I mean by “beyond love.” (“Beyond love” has many definitions, so mine may be different from yours.)

Let’s start from the very beginning. Meet me and my family; know me, know my family, and then we shall move together toward our story.

My name is Mariyah and I work at a bank in Dubai. My father is by profession a government servant, as well as a successful businessman who is busy all the time. We come from Pakistan, but have lived in the United Arab Emirates for the last 10 years.

Now meet my younger sister, Anna. She is 21, which means that she is 9 years younger than I am. She goes to high school and sleeps when she returns home. This is her favorite pastime.

Anna and I, by nature, are like East and West. We are very different. For instance, she hates soft music and I love it. She rarely eats rice and I eat it day and night. She loves to sleep while I hate this habit of hers. This is the reason we keep fighting with each other. By the way, she is also very critical. She criticizes my clothing and the way I talk, walk, sleep, and eat, blah, blah, blah.

Sometimes I enjoy it. Other times I lose my temper and we end up fighting with each other. Apart from these trivial things, we have differences of opinion. She likes modernism, I like conservatism (to some extent). But we still love and respect each other and are much more than just sisters.

This story begins with the arrival of a computer and Internet access at our home. Please do not stereotype this tale as being a typical cyber story. It is much more than that.

We were newly arrived in Dubai and found that living here was so boring because all of our friends and family were in Lahore. We used to miss them a lot, especially our mama, who died in Lahore. However, time passed quickly and we adjusted to life here. The computer helped us stay in touch with our friends and family.

It was the beginning of 2005, when I was 20 years old. I was earning a bachelor’s degree at the time. I remember that we had just bought a laptop and it impressed me a great deal. I wanted to learn a lot from it. I wanted to know the world, know more people, make new connections, explore each and every culture, and still remain a good daddy’s girl (since my daddy never liked me using the Internet a lot). (to be continued…)

Leave a Reply

